Made From Scratch

Did you get your word in today?! This is gonna be good! I can already tell. My reads for today were Ezra, Matthew, Romans, and some of Battlefield of the Mind…wait let me tell you about my morning. Oh and hello there.

It was time for me to get up and get my day started. Guess what was on my mind… FOOD! After last night I just knew there was no way I could complete this fast without eating. I mean I’m small enough as it is and on top of that I can’t function around my kids the way I need too without the proper diet, meaning having food in my system. Let me tell you, yesterday, I felt like death. It was bad, real bad I tell you. My stomach was on some other stuff. That was the first time EVER I haven’t eaten for a long period of time. Never again though. So look, today for breakfast I thought why not make some eggs and biscuits. Come to find out, there weren’t any ready made biscuits that I could just pop in the oven. Just my luck, right. But then, as looked in each cabinet I realized I could make biscuits from scratch. I gathered the ingredients needed and went to work.

The recipe called for:

  • 2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1tbsp of baking powder
  • 1tbsp of sugar
  • 1tsp of salt
  • 1/3 cup of butter
  • 1 cup of milk

I love to bake deserts and such, but this was my first time making biscuits. They came out great! 6 fluffy biscuits. I lightly buttered them and sprinkled cinnamon atop. Call me Betty Crocker if you may!

During the process of baking I realized that in order for the biscuits to come out right, I needed the right amount of ingredients. It only makes sense.

What are the necessary ingredients for living the life that God has ordained us according to His purpose?

Here’s my recipe:

  • Answer His call. He’s calling us to return to His will and be restored. (Ezra 1:1-4)
  • Renew your mind according to the Word. The promises “the good and acceptable and perfect will” of God for my life will follow. (Romans 12:2)
  • Act according to the Spirit. (Romans 8:5)

Yes, just 3 main ingredients. I don’t have 7 to give like Pastor Andy usually does. This is important though, when you begin to see God’s purpose for your life in your thinking, you will begin to walk in it!

Everyday wake up saying “Yes. I will surrender my life unto Your will.”

Enjoy.

Gabbs.

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness [of the Kingdom] for they will be filled. Matthew 5:6


2 thoughts on “Made From Scratch

  1. Those biscuits sound good! Lol. Also, you will be able to complete a fast without eating eventually. You just have to start off slow (such as with a Daniel’s Fast, or some variable as such). Fasts are pretty impossible through human strength, but it’s the Spirit that will keep you when those hunger pangs start to hit (they typically subside after three days anyway). Love ya!

Leave a comment