C’mon. One More Set!

My body is hurting right now, currently laid out on Liz’s couch finally getting some rest, waiting for my tea to cool down.

This evening I took a visit to Fitness Connection (it’s a great gym..go check it out. Ask for Derek!) for the “Body Pump” class. Now before getting there, I thought I was going for Zumba. My dear friend didn’t tell me what we were doing until we’re half way to the gym. “Body Pump” was a full body workout…with weights. Jokes on me. When I found out what we were doing, I began to question if I could complete the workout before even walking into the building. I haven’t been to the gym in awhile so you know my body was out of shape and not in tune to the pain that I was about to endure.

Squats, body press, dead lifts, bench press, and a lot of other stuff. All in an hour, using weights the entire time. Good news though. I made it to the end, it was hard but I did it! Our instructor kept pushing us, encouraging us, as an instructor should. “You just wanna make it to the end of this track (the song that was playing). You got it, that’s it, you’re doing it, don’t stop now..” Her words were enough to keep me going. And it felt amazing to finish what I started.

Oh but that wasn’t it. We hit the courts afterwards and played some ball. Needless to say, I need to work on my free throws (for those who know me, you know what I really mean. I don’t need to get back on the court haha)…it’s been a long while ok.

Gyms closing and we’re finally heading out. 3 hours in the gym working up a sweat, but look that’s not what’s really important.

Here’s the meat…the juicy part. On the way back to the house we had a real serious moment. Per usual I asked for Liz’s opinion on something. Already knowing what her response would be, she says “Gab honestly, the best advice I can give you is to pray.”

Pray. Watch. And fast.. Yes there may be times when you feel like God isn’t listening, but He is. The bible says to watch and pray. He hears you, and me too. Ask God to guide you. You be the gas, and God will be the break. He’ll never lead you astray.

Fast. Watch. Pray. In your quiet time be obedient. Move in obedient silence and let God make the noise.


Leave a comment